Registered Charity No.249967, Founded 1940 25 February 2018 (GMT)
Fees due from October 1st The British Society of Rheology
Members Log-on Here logon here!      
Username or ID:
Annual Award Winner
The 2017 Annual Award of the BSR was presented to Suzanne Fielding (Durham) at the BSR ...
Click here for more information...
Vernon Harrison Award
Dr Adam Townsend won the Vernon Harrison Prize for 2016/17 for his thesis on "The Mechanics of ...
Click here for more information...
New Non-Newtonian Club meeting
Popular Items:
News Banner
Other News and Announcements
Forthcoming BSR Meetings
  • None at present
  • ...

An Introduction to the BSR

Welcome to the BSR. The Society was founded as an informal British Rheologists' Club in 1940 and has as its objectives the promotion of science and dissemination of knowledge in the areas of pure and applied rheology. It has expanded greatly since then and now has over 400 members, of whom about a third are outside the U.K. and distributed widely throughout the world. For example, there are about 50 members in North America. However, it still strives to preserve the informal Club atmosphere. All offices of the Society are honorary appointments and an elected Council is the governing body. Members are drawn both from academic life and from a wide range of industrial activities. They come from many scientific disciplines including mathematics, computer science, physics, chemistry, biology, biochemistry, materials science, engineering and medicine.

The BSR runs scientific meetings and meetings of the Non-Newtonian Club, and provides many other services to its members. Student members are invited to apply for travel awards, and each year we hold a competition for the best Ph.D. thesis in rheology, awarding the Vernon Harrison Prize. We also make an Annual Award to a distinguished rheologist and periodically award the BSR Gold Medal: the most recent recipient was Gareth McKinley, who received his medal at the Midwinter Meeting in December 2014.

Anton Paar

video missing