16 December 2018 (GMT)
Fees due from October 1st The British Society of Rheology
Members Log-on Here logon here!      
Username or ID:
Home arrow Awards arrow Vernon Harrison Doctoral Prize

The Vernon Harrison Annual Doctoral Prize

In 2003 the British Society of Rheology decided to institute a new annual award for the most distinguished PhD thesis in rheology. The aim of this award is to recognise excellence, creativity and novelty in research and will be awarded to the postgraduate student who, in the opinion of the adjudicating committee, has made the most original and significant contribution to any branch of rheological research (experimental, computational or theoretical) leading to the award of a PhD degree in a given academic year. This prize is partly supported by the Vernon Harrison Bequest. Dr Adam Townsend from University College London was the 2017 winner with his thesis on “The Mechanics of Suspensions”.

The prize for the award will be £500 and an illuminated certificate.

The deadline for submission of nominations for the next award is 30 September 2018.

Any person who has submitted and successfully defended a thesis in any area of rheology at a higher education institution in the United Kingdom between 1 September 2017 and 31st August 2018 is eligible, whether a member of the Society or not. Each entry should consist of:

point A two page summary of the research and the key achievements, written by the candidate, which especially distinguish it as a candidate for this award;

point A letter from the thesis supervisor confirming the recommendation of the award of a PhD by the candidate and supporting the case for the award, highlighting the specific original contributions of the candidate;

point The name and address of the external PhD examiner, whose opinion will be sought.

An Adjudicating Committee appointed by the Council of the British Society of Rheology will consider the entries. Particular attention will be given to the originality and quality of the research and the Committee may subsequently ask to see a copy of the final version of the thesis in reaching their decision. Entries will be selected by the Adjudicating Committee for presentation at a meeting of the British Society of Rheology in December. The Adjudicating Committee may award any number of first and secondary prizes. Travel funds will be available to assist candidates to attend the prize meeting.

Proposals for the next award should reach the BSR secretary on secretary@bsr.org.uk by September 30th 2018. They may be submitted by either the candidate or the supervisor.

Anton Paar

video missing

System Support by Bay View Systems Ltd